Inspiring Business by Sharing Success

Winners unveiled in Midlands Director of the Year Awards

Winners unveiled in Midlands Director of the Year Awards

The Institute of Directors (IoD) has announced the winners of its Midlands Director of the Year Awards 2020.

The winners were unveiled at a virtual awards ceremony, streamed live on (12 Nov) to an audience of business leaders from across the East and West Midlands.

It was the first time that the IoD East and West Midlands regions had joined forces for the prestigious awards.

The Chair’s Award for Excellence and Board Practice for the East Midlands went to Pat Doody, chair of Great Lincolnshire LEP.

Gary Headland, chair, IoD East Midlands, said:

“This year’s awards attracted an excellent standard of entries and for the judges, choosing the winners in each category was no mean feat. Innovation, leadership and determination were among the qualities which shone through in our 2020 winners.”

Award winners were announced by this year’s category sponsors: BHSF, Business Link magazine, Schroders Personal Wealth Management, Finance 4 Business, Midlands Engine Investment Fund, Morningside Pharmaceuticals, Nelsons Solicitors, Smith and Williamson, University of Lincoln and University of Wolverhampton.

The winners are:

Large Director of the Year – Peter Jarvis – Contechs Ltd, West Midlands


Third Sector Director of the Year – Toby Porter – Acorns Children's Hospice, West Midlands


Start-up Director of the Year – Tracey Paxton – The Employee Resilience Company Ltd, West Midlands

Highly commended – Sonu Bubna,, West Midlands


SME Director of the Year – Jonathan Hemus – Insignia Crisis and Reputation Management, West Midlands

Highly commended – Ian Walters, SLC Rail, West Midlands


Public Sector Director of the Year – Bill Skelly – Lincolnshire Police, East Midlands


Non-Executive Director of the Year – James Pinchbeck – Lincoln College Group, East Midlands


Director of the Year for Innovation – Chris Clay – Escalate Law, East Midlands

Highly commended – Steven Greenall, Warwick Music Group, West Midlands


Director of the Year for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion – Roger Dix – Wesleyan, West Midlands

Highly commended – Mark Esho, Easy Internet Services, Easy Internet Solutions, DREME Ltd and Access Rating CIC, East Midlands


Family Director of the Year – Helen Wathall – Wathall’s, East Midlands


Director of the Year for Social Value & Sustainability Impact – Kevin Watson – Amadeus, West Midlands

Highly commended – Dale Parmenter, DRPG, West Midlands


Young Director of the Year - Suleman Sacraine – The GP Service (UK) Limited, West Midlands

Highly commended – Daniel Evans, Birmingham Enterprise Community CIC, West Midlands


Picture: Pat Doody

< Back