Inspiring Business by Sharing Success

Shortlist revealed for Midlands Director of the Year Awards

Shortlist revealed for Midlands Director of the Year Awards

The Institute of Directors (IoD) has revealed the names of the business leaders shortlisted for its 2020 Midlands Director of the Year Awards.

The finalists are drawn from across the East and West Midlands and represent the full spectrum and diversity of business and industry, from young entrepreneurs to experienced public and private sector leaders.

This is the first time that the IoD East and West Midlands regions have joined forces for the prestigious awards. The winners will be revealed at a virtual awards ceremony, streamed live at 5pm on 12 November.

Gary Headland, chair, IoD East Midlands, said:

“The unforeseen impact of Covid-19 has prompted many businesses to innovate and provided us with the opportunity to try new ways of doing things. As such, we are running this year’s awards across the whole of the Midlands, offering even greater visibility to our finalists.”

Brian Hall, chair, IoD West Midlands, said:

“Now, more than ever, it is imperative that we celebrate directors and their achievements, showcasing those at the forefront of leadership excellence. Congratulations to everyone who has made this shortlist, which is a fantastic achievement in itself.”

Hall and Headland will each select and announce a winner for the Chair’s Award for Excellence from their respective half of the Midlands.

Award winners will be announced by this year’s category sponsors: BHSF, Business Link magazine, DRP, Finance 4 Business, Midlands Engine Investment Fund, Morningside Pharmaceuticals, Nelsons Solicitors, Smith and Williamson, University of Lincoln and University of Wolverhampton.

Free tickets to attend the event are available now at

The shortlist:

Derbyshire & Nottinghamshire

Laura Claire Smith, Autistic Nottingham
Grant & Stacey Green, Freedom Foundation CIC
Claire-Marie Cuthbert, The Evolve Trust
Mark Smith, Royal Life Saving Society UK
Karl Spencer, Safety PAL (PAL Software)
Sam Hallett, Enable Life & Enable Future
Helen Wathall, Wathall's


Samantha Burton, Make an Entrance
Naomi Watkins-Ligudzinska, NW Counselling Hub CIC
Bill Skelly, Lincolnshire Police
James Pinchbeck, Lincoln College Group and Streets Chartered Accountants
Ruchi Aggarwal, Lincoln International Business School
Samantha Burton, Make an Entrance


Emma Hallam, Alex's Wish
Ian McKellar, Kudos Technology
Mark Platt, Incite Consulting Services
Mark Robinson and Andy Rudkin, Creative 62
Paul Bonnett, Danaher & Walsh Group
Mark Eydman, IO Controls Limited
Stephen Dean, Alex's Wish
Parvez Bhatty, Leicester Children's Holidays
Chris Clay, Escalate Law
John Fennell, Rotherwood Healthcare
Mark Esho, Easy Internet Services, Easy Internet Solutions, DREME Ltd and Access Rating CIC


Daniel Evans, Birmingham Enterprise Community CIC
Sonu Bubna,
Tracey Paxton, The Employee Resilience Company
Jamil Shabir, Bootcamp Media
Ian Walters, SLC Rail
Geoff Cousins, G&P Group Holdings
Kevin Watson, Amadeus
Toby Porter, Acorns Children's Hospice
Roger Dix, Wesleyan
Paul Wood, Woodhshires Business Solutions
Kevin Watson, Amadeus
Ian Vickers, Managed Enterprise Technologies

Coventry & Warwickshire

Suleman Sacranie, The GP Service (UK)
Amrit Sandhar, The Engagement Coach
Peter Jarvis, Contechs          

Black Country

Mike Gahir, Steps to Work
Steven Greenall, Warwick Music Group
Jonathan Hemus, Insignia Crisis and Reputation Management
Phil Arkinstall, Ark Media Productions

Hereford & Worcester

Dale Parmenter, DRPG

< Back