Hinckley & Rugby AGM donations to nine charities

Hinckley & Rugby AGM donations to nine charities

Thanks to its members voting before Tuesday’s (March 31 2020) Annual General Meeting, Hinckley & Rugby Building Society has donated £500 each to nine local charities.

Due to the coronavirus the AGM took place remotely, with all participants on a video link from separate locations. More than 3,400 members had already cast their votes online or via post, with each vote triggering a charitable donation by the Society.

This year the donations have gone to nine charities in and around Rugby, reflecting that the meeting had been scheduled to take place at Rugby School. It would have been the Society’s first AGM to be held in the town, following the 1983 merger of Rugby Provident Building Society with Hinckley Building Society.

The nine local charities – selected in partnership with the three Rugby Rotary clubs – are:

  • 29F (Rugby) Squadron Air Cadets
  • Rugby Area Talent Trust (RATT)
  • New Directions
  • Brinjury
  • Cystic Fibrosis Trust (Rugby)
  • CERU (Central England Rehabilitation Centre)
  • The Bradby Club
  • Futures Unlocked
  • The Good Times Project

Hinckley & Rugby chief executive Colin Fyfe said:

“As a mutual we exist for our members – our savers and borrowers – so it is vital that they have their say on what we do and how we do it.

“The AGM is a key moment in our year for us to hear their views and to count their votes. Despite the challenge of holding our AGM amid the coronavirus restrictions, it did take place remotely and the many thousands of votes cast means we can help nine great causes.

“I would like to thank our members for voting and also for emailing questions which the board of directors responded to during the virtual meeting. I have summarised many of those answers in a film which can been viewed online.”

During the meeting the Society’s Chairman Colin Franklin said:

“I would like to take the opportunity, on behalf of the directors and members, to record our sincere thanks to the management team and all staff who are working tirelessly to continue to provide essential member services at this difficult time and to do everything possible to keep everyone safe.”

During the Society’s 154th AGM the annual accounts, appointment of auditors and remuneration report were approved by members and eight directors were re-elected:

  • Chairman Colin Franklin
  • Senior independent director David Woodward
  • Non-executive director Geneane Bell
  • Non-executive director Barbara Mellish
  • Non-executive director Nemone Wynn-Evans
  • Non-executive director Gary Wilkinson
  • Chief executive Colin Fyfe
  • Chief customer officer Dean Waddingham

< Back