Inspirational women across the Midlands celebrated at glittering awards ceremony

Inspirational women across the Midlands celebrated at glittering awards ceremony

The prestigious East Midlands Women’s Awards (EMWA), which is now in its third year, was held at Nottingham’s stunning Colwick Hall and hosted by BBC Radio Leicester presenters Rupal Rajani and Dave Andrews, with special guest the Lord Lieutenant of Nottinghamshire, Sir John Peace in attendance who voiced his interest in increasing the number of women in senior roles.

The East Midlands Women’s Awards (EMWA) recognizes and celebrates women from all sectors, backgrounds, cultures, ethnicities and age, making it the region’s most inclusive event.  Furthermore, it acknowledges the impact of women in society – from grass-roots levels to the top of the academic or corporate world.

Sandra Pollock, Founder of the EMWA, said:

“This year’s awards marks our third year and we are blown away with the award nominations we received which proudly represent a wide spectrum of sectors, backgrounds, cultures, ethnicities and ages, and I believe they deserve to be recognised. In fact, we’ve seen a growth of over 70% in nominations, which is thrilling.”

She continues; “It’s been an incredible evening celebrating and recognising the work these amazing women – and supporting men – do in our communities.”

The 2019 awards’ headline sponsor was Glynis Wright & Co Family Solicitors – notably, Glynis was the winner of the ‘East Midlands Inspirational Female Leader’ in 2017 and challenged the female guests to dream big, saying ‘if their dreams didn’t scare them; dream bigger’ in order to affect real change and create more opportunities for women in the future.

Sandra Pollock rounded off the event announcing that whilst the East Midlands Women’s Awards will remain her flagship event, she will be expanding and moving into the West Midlands in 2020.

Winners were:

Outstanding Woman of Community Impact   – Charity & Voluntary Award 2019
(Sponsored by Inspiring CIC)

WINNER: Maria Hanson MBE
Finalist:  Sue McEniff                   

Outstanding Woman in Arts, Media & Music Award 2019
(Sponsored by Dluxe Magazine) 

WINNER: Kelly McCormack                        
Finalist: Abbi Burns       

Outstanding BAME Female Leader of the Year Award 2019
(Sponsored by EMBNN)

WINNER: Zinthiya Ganeshpanchan        
Finalist: Farhana Sheikh

Outstanding Senior Female Executive Award 2019
(Sponsored by Open Mind Training & Development Ltd)

WINNER: Claire Twells                                 
Finalist: Claire-Marie Cuthbert

Outstanding Woman in Education Award 2019 
(Sponsored by Cosy Direct)

WINNER: Claire-Marie Cuthbert                              
Finalist: Wendy Colebourne        

Female Entrepreneur of the Year Award 2019
(Sponsored by Finance Lab)

WINNER: Amanda Strong                                            
Finalist: Estelle Keeber                             

Outstanding Woman in Professional Services Award 2019    
(Sponsored by Bev Sankey)

WINNER: Nisha Tanna                                  
Finalist: Bhumika Parmar

Outstanding Female Leader in a Market Town Award 2019
(Sponsored by Women in Management UK)

WINNER: Lucy Lewin                                     
Finalist: Felicity Francis

Outstanding Woman in Care Services Award 2019
(Sponsored by Uppingham First)

WINNER: Sue Grogan                                   
Finalist: Justina Nurse                     

Outstanding Woman in Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) Award 2019
(Sponsored by Open Mind Training & Development Ltd)

WINNER: Suzanne Davies                                           
Finalist: Jigna Varu

Inspirational Male Supporting Woman Leaders Award 2019
(Sponsored by Open Mind Training & Development Ltd)

WINNER: Herdle White                                               
Finalist: Mark Harrison

East Midlands Inspirational Female Leader 2019
(Sponsored by Glynis Wright & Co.)

WINNER: Claire Twells                                 
Finalist: Claire-Maria Cuthbert   

For more information visit

< Back