Inspiring Business by Sharing Success

Entries now open for ICE East Midlands Merit Awards 2018 - new awards announced

ICE East Midlands Merit Awards 2018 will take place on 8 June at The Roundhouse, Derby.

2017 EMMAs Team

The ICE East Midlands Merit Awards (EMMAs) provide an opportunity for civil engineers in the region to celebrate all aspects of their achievements, whether related to projects or people.

Winners will be announced at the ICE East Midlands Bicentenary Gala Dinner on Friday 8 June 2018 during an awards ceremony. ICE President, Lord Mair will present the awards and certificates on the evening at The Roundhouse, Derby.

The awards will be presented to the submitting organisation and other partners (commissioning authority, designer, contractor or research establishment as appropriate) or individuals where appropriate.

For our bicentenary year only, we have introduced two new awards in addition to our existing ones.

For 2018 the ‘Unsung Hero Award’ has been added in order to recognise an individual who has made a difference to society through their personal in a voluntary capacity.

The ‘Shaping the World Award‘ recognises a project or programme of work completed in the last 50 years that has made an outstanding contribution to society, and helped to safeguard future generations.

Awards categories

  • Small Project Award - (up to £750k)
  • Medium Project Award - (£750k - £10 million)
  • Large Project Award - (over £10 million)
  • Studies and Research Award
  • Team Achievement Award
  • The William Kemp Award
  • Shaping the World Award
  • Unsung Hero Award Award

More information on ICE East Midlands Merit Awards 2018 can be found on: and information about 2017’s winners are published here too.

For information and bookings for our Bi-centenary Gala Dinner, please go to:


< Back